2022 All-Conference & Major Award Winners Announced

2022 All-Conference & Major Award Winners Announced

By: Doug DeBiase | Collegiate Sprint Football League | November 29, 2022

NEW HAVEN, Conn. (November 29, 2022) -- The Collegiate Sprint Football League (CSFL) announced its 2022 all-conference and major award winners on Tuesday, as four of the league's nine member institutions boasted major award winners on offense, defense, special teams, and among the CSFL's 2022 rookie class. The announcement of the award winners was made by CSFL Commissioner Dan Mara. Nominating and voting for the awards was conducted by the league's nine head coaches.

Navy running back Alex Totta was named the CSFL Offensive Player of the Year, while Army West Point linebacker Luke Gigliotti was tabbed as the CSFL Defensive Player of the Year. Caldwell running back Devon Turner was crowned the CSFL Rookie of the Year, and Penn punting/kicking specialist Adrian Montemayor was selected as the CSFL Special Teams Player of the Year.

Totta was a workhorse back for the Mids all season as Navy rolled to its second-consecutive undefeated season capped by a CSFL Championship. He rushed for over 1,100 yards in only eight games and scored 15 touchdowns. Totta led the CSFL in carries (190), rushing yards (1,113), average yards per game (139.1) and touchdowns. He ranked second in the league with 5.9 yards per carry. Totta pounded out a season-best 283 yards rushing at Caldwell, and logged 193 yards -- including a 41-yard TD run with 1:51 remaining -- to help the Mids break a 21-all tie and defeat traditional rival Army in the CSFL Championship Game earlier this month in Annapolis (Final Score: 28-21). He rushed for over 100 yards in 6-of-8 games in 2022. Totta was also a factor in the passing game as he caught 13 passes for 109 yards (8.4 yds/rec.). Totta was named a First-Team All-CSFL Running Back.

Gigliotti ranked third in the CSFL with 59 tackles, as he helped the Black Knights become one of the top defenses in the league. He logged double-digit tackles in three games, including a season-high 14 at Navy in the Annual Star Game back on Sept. 23, in Annapolis. Gigliotti was a tackling machine late in the season to help the Black Knights wrap up the North Division title with back-to-back crucial wins over Mansfield and Caldwell. He turned in eight stops in a 54-6 win over Mansfield on Oct. 21, and then logged 10 tackles in the North Division Championship Game versus Caldwell (24-13) on Nov. 4. Gigliotti's best all-around game came in Army's 63-0 win over Alderson Broaddus on Oct. 8, as he had five tackles, one for loss (-7 yards), two passes broken up, a forced fumble, and a fumble return for a touchdown to help the Black Knights post one of its three shutout wins this fall. Gigliotti was selected as a First-Team All-CSFL Linebacker.

Turner had a fantastic debut season at the collegiate level in 2022, as he rushed for 563 yards (80.4 yds/game) and scored four touchdowns in helping Caldwell to its second-consecutive 5-2 season. He topped 100 yards rushing in back-to-back wins versus St. Thomas Aquinas (Oct. 21) and Cornell (Oct. 29). Turner went for 126 yards and a score against STAC and then produced a season-best 150 yards and a TD against the Big Red. Turner was named a First-Team All-CSFL Running Back.

Montemayor was a do-it-all tool for Penn this fall, as in addition to punting and kicking duties, he also played defensive back. As a punter, Montemayor averaged 35.6 yards per boot, including a season-long of 50 yards. Nearly half of his 32 punts (15 total) were either downed inside the 20-yard line or fair caught, thus not allowing opponents to flip field position in the return game. In the kicking game, he was a perfect 4-for-4 on field goal opportunities and was 13-of-14 on extra-point attempts while scoring 25 points during the year. His perfect field goal percentage was tied for best in the league.

Each of the league's nine member schools had multiple players earn all-conference honors. The list of all-league honorees is included below.

Alex Totta (Navy)

Luke Gigliotti (Army West Point)

Adrian Montemayor (Penn)

Devon Turner (Caldwell)

QB – Brandon Atwood (Navy)
QB – Cahsid Raymond (Mansfield)
RB – Audie McAree (Mansfield)
RB – Alex Totta (Navy)
RB – Devon Turner (Caldwell)
WR – Traye Carson (Army West Point)
WR – Brandon Graves (Penn)
WR – Donovan Mannion (Army West Point)
WR – Andrew Margiotta (Navy)
TE – Nick Ocampo (Chestnut Hill)
OL – Liam Brown (Navy)
OL – Tim D’Antonio (Army West Point)
OL – Ryan Kenneally (Navy)
OL – Hunter Pein (Caldwell)
OL – Alec Wells (Army West Point)
PK – Ben Abercrombie (Army West Point)
PR – Donovan Swasey (Caldwell)
KR – Reno Molina (St. Thomas Aquinas)

DL – Michael Lohrmann (Caldwell)
DL – Chase Moser (Mansfield)
DL – David Niski (Navy)
DL – Ryan Rast (Army West Point)
DL – Donnell White (St. Thomas Aquinas)
DL – Brendan Windsor (Army West Point)
LB – Jack Costigan (Navy)
LB – Luke Gigliotti (Army West Point)
LB – Matt Robert (Mansfield)
LB – Mike Sullivan (Army West Point)
DB – Dante Carrasco (Navy)
DB – Nadir Emlemdi (Navy)
DB – Kyle Readus (Caldwell)
DB – Sammy Whipple (Army West Point)
P – Jayden Bennermon (St. Thomas Aquinas)

QB – Mikal Willeke (Army West Point)
RB – Reno Molina (St. Thomas Aquinas)
RB – Terrance Quaker (Mansfield)
WR – Blake Baxter (Alderson Broaddus)
WR – Eugene Haynes (Mansfield)
WR – Colton Kotecki (Cornell)
WR – Jake Wang (Penn)
TE – Angelo Drake (Caldwell)
TE – Carter Mullikin (Navy)
OL – Joseph Alberti (Caldwell)
OL – Alex Dean (Mansfield)
OL – Kevin Jess (Cornell)
OL – Ethan Kelley (Alderson Broaddus)
OL – Logan Powell (Army West Point)

DL – Zachary Allison (Alderson Broaddus)
DL – Jonathan Havrilak (Chestnut Hill)
DL – Cam Janock (Penn)
DL – Zac McPherson (Cornell)
DL – Sebastian Russell (Army West Point)
LB – Andrew Conklin (Caldwell)
LB – Anthony Guarino (Caldwell)
LB – Jake Inserra (Penn)
LB – Billy Turner (Cornell)
DB – Ethan Codeluppi (Alderson Broaddus)
DB – Gennaro Longobardi (Caldwell)
DB – Amajuwan Murray (Caldwell)
DB – Bryheem Swanson (Army West Point)

QB – Frank DeMaio (Caldwell)
QB – Xavier Martinez (Cornell)
QB – Andrew Paolini (Penn)
WR – Jake Smith (Navy)
OL – Dylan Schneider (St. Thomas Aquinas)
OL – Alex Schrier (Penn)
OL – Jacob Sharp (Alderson Broaddus)

DL – Kayin Berger (Mansfield)
DL – Dennis Cranston (Chestnut Hill)
DL – Larry Fonville (Chestnut Hill)
DL – Jabari Gittens-Ampadu (Alderson Broaddus)
DL – Angelo Labbe (Navy)
DL – Devyn Martin (Navy)
DL – Matt McKillop (Penn)
DL – Messiah Porter (Caldwell)
LB – Bobby Dell (Mansfield)
LB – Dalton Dunkle (Alderson Broaddus)
LB – Gavin Hinman (Mansfield)
LB – Christopher Jones (St. Thomas Aquinas)
LB – Dylan Knight (Alderson Broaddus)
LB – Esmond Oldums (St. Thomas Aquinas)
LB – Charles Tauckus (Penn)
LB – Lex Williams (Chestnut Hill)
DB – Adedotun Bello (Penn)
DB – Shawn Benard (St. Thomas Aquinas)
DB – Erick Campbell (St. Thomas Aquinas)
DB – Lane Condie (Navy)
DB – Jomel Monpas (Alderson Broaddus)
DB – Adrian Montemayor (Penn)
DB – Evan Nicholas (Cornell)
DB – Jordan Ortiz (Penn)
DB – Kasey Sullivan (St. Thomas Aquinas)