Alderson Broaddus joins CSFL

Alderson Broaddus joins CSFL

By: CSFL Staff | Collegiate Sprint Football League | October 9, 2018

ANNAPOLIS, Md. – The Collegiate Sprint Football League will move back to 10 teams in 2019 with the addition of Alderson Broaddus University as a full-time member, as announced Tuesday, Oct. 9 in a joint statement by the CSFL and Alderson Broaddus.

“We’re thrilled to announce the addition of Alderson Broaddus for 2019,” said CSFL commissioner Matt Munnelly. “This will expand the reach of our league into West Virginia, will balance us with five teams in each division and will lead to new opportunities for the student-athletes in our league.”

Alderson Broaddus, located in Philippi, West Virginia, currently offers 24 intercollegiate sports mostly at the NCAA Division II level. The Battlers will continue to field their Division II football team that competes in the Great Midwest Athletic Conference and will add sprint football as their 25th varsity sport.

"We are honored to join the CSFL,” said Alderson Broaddus president Dr. Jams Barry. “We are excited for not only for the high level of competition on the field, but to be joined with like-minded institutions of higher education off the field."

Joining the CSFL will give Alderson Broaddus a larger reach into the mid-Atlantic region as the Battlers currently play the majority of their competitions in West Virginia and Ohio. All of the other teams in the CSFL are located northeast of Philippi, with the exception of Navy, which is slightly southeast.

"We are excited to add sprint football to our varsity sport offerings,” said Alderson Broaddus athletic director Dennis Creehan. “Sprint football will continue to add to the vibrancy and excitement on our campus. We look forward to joining the current members of the CSFL in competition next fall and are honored to join this prestigious league.”

Earlier this fall, the CSFL announced that Franklin Pierce would be leaving the league at the end of the 2018 season as the Ravens pursue a move to NCAA Division II football. That departure would have left the league with nine teams, but Alderson Broaddus will fill that void and keep the league balanced with 10 teams in 2019.

Final decisions regarding the divisional alignment and scheduling for 2019 will be made at the annual CSFL meeting in December.


The Collegiate Sprint Football League, which dates back to 1934, has provided thousands of student-athletes with the opportunity to continue playing football during their collegiate careers. The league, which currently includes 10 member institutions, is a full-contact intercollegiate varsity sport that operates under the same rules as NCAA football, with the exception that players must weigh 178.0 pounds or less. The 10 member institutions currently in the CSFL are: Army West Point, Caldwell University, Chestnut Hill College, Cornell University, Franklin Pierce University, Mansfield University, the U.S. Naval Academy, Post University, the University of Pennsylvania and St. Thomas Aquinas College.


For nearly 150 years, Alderson Broaddus University as an independent institution of higher learning has been providing a quality education for its students. Overlooking the picturesque Tygart River Valley in Philippi, West Virginia, Alderson Broaddus University students learn and grow in a faith-based community affiliated with the American Baptist Churches USA and the West Virginia Baptist Convention. As a health-related and professional education institution, Alderson Broaddus University educates students in the tenets of civic engagement, communication, critical thinking, diversity, and ethics which form the foundation of a liberal arts education. For more information visit and